beginner need help w/ language

I am a student working on a very basic project using the Rabbit 2000 dev kit. I am required to hook the board up and run the sample programs – which I have done quite easily.

I am trying to understand the code in a sample program demotcp1.c
I can obviously read the comments included but I am trying to understand the syntax. I am using the Dynamic C manual.

I am not a complete novice in programming though you can still consider me an unexperienced programmer.

Can someone please explain these lines of code? Or point me to documentation I can access? I am interested in knowing what WrPortI and BitWrPortI is here. They look like functions with 3 parameters but the program doesn’t appear to be linked to any other files.

// set lowest 2 bits of port D as outputs
WrPortI(PDDDR, &PDDDRShadow, 0x03);

and this one:
// turn led on output 0 on
BitWrPortI(PDDR, &PDDRShadow, 0xFF, 0);

Thanks.

WrPortI - Writes an internal I/O register with 8 bits and updates shadow for that register

BitWrPortI - Updates shadow register at position bitcode with value (0 or 1); copies shadow to register.

take a gander in the “Function Reference Manual” it will explain these.

basically the “BitWrPortI” is used to change just one bit and “WrPortI” is used when you need to modify more that one bit in a register.

For example, if you have a led connected to A0 and you want to turn it on.
(depending how its wired of course, lets say a logic 1 turns the led on)

(Led ON)
BitWrPortI(PADR, &PADRShadow, 1, 0) the “1” means make the pin high and the “0” means the bit position of the register.

(Led Off)
BitWrPortI(PADR, &PADRShadow, 0, 0) the “1” means make the pin high and the “0” means the bit position of the register.

(Just another example)
BitWrPortI(PADR, &PADRShadow, 1, 7) the “1” means make the pin high and the “7” means the bit position of the register.