help in python program

Good evening. I’m new in the forum and i am studying python for XBee. I see a page from Digi program but could not understand him. Could somebody explain each line? Thank you.

def parseIS(data):
if len(data) % 2 == 0:
sets, datamask, analogmask = struct.unpack(“!BHB”, data[:4])
data = data[4:]

else:        
    sets, mask = struct.unpack("!BH", data[:3])
    data = data[3:]
    datamask = mask % 512 # Move the first 9 bits into a seperate mask
    analogmask  = mask >> 9 #Move the last 7 bits into a seperate mask

retdir = {}

if datamask:
    datavals = struct.unpack("!H", data[:2])[0]
    data = data[2:]

currentDI = 0
    while datamask:
        if datamask & 1:
            retdir["DIO%d" % currentDI] = datavals & 1
        datamask >>= 1
        datavals >>= 1
        currentDI += 1

currentAI = 0

while analogmask:
    if analogmask & 1:
        aval = struct.unpack("!H", data[:2])[0]
        data = data[2:]

retdir["AI%d" % currentAI] = aval
    analogmask >>= 1
    currentAI += 1

return retdir
1 Like

Yoru request is a bit unreasonable (explain each line? You don’t understand what ‘currentDI = 0’ does?)

Python is intrepretive, so just run the interactive interpreter, import struct, set data = ‘\x01\x00\x02\x00\x00\x02’, then manually enter various lines, then print the result to see what happens. It might tank an hour, but you’ll develop a very good understanding.

The data I showed you to set means you only have 1 DIO value (DIO1) and it is true.

There are easier programs to learn from. This particular program is using a lot of ‘bitwise’ operations, meaning it’s doing shifts and masks to get the information it needs to process.

It also uses the struct library to pack the response in a specific order of bytes, as well as string manipulation and gathering sub strings by using the string[:] style functions.