Porting a Program to Dynamic C

Hi Everybody,

I have purchased a Rabbit RCM6700 Standart Kit. I am using Dynamic C Compiler 10.70. I want to port my existing C project to Dynamic C to work with this board. But I am new to Dynamic C and rabbit microcontrollers. I have read the “TN203 - Porting a Program to Dynamic C” document but still no success. Please guide me through this porting process. If anyone can provide a tutorial showing all steps needed I am very pleased. I am sure it will be very useful for lots of people in this forum.

I can succesfully compile and run my project using VS2010 in windows platform. It send some commands to our special module board using serial interface and receives data back and prints on screen. I want to control our module board with RCM6700 and send received datas using ethernet interface.

Let me explain my C project structure.

This project have one “main.C” file and several “.h” header files.
In “main.C” file all necessary headers are included with “#include myheader.h” directive. And inside header files, other headers are also included.
All these headers are user-defined headers.
As I have learned Dynamic C does not support “#include” directives and “.h” header files. Am I correct?
It uses “#use myheader.lib” instead.

How can I convert my C headers to Dynamic C libraries?
Where do I copy my header files?
How can I include them to project path?

I am waiting some answers to solve this porting problem. I will try another platform if I can not find any solution.

Thank you.

The more recent versions of DC support the use of #include to make it easier to port code from standard C. Have a look in the DC Users manual for information on how to use this feature. I believe you can set up projects with the newest DC and tell it which files to include but I havent used this feature myself so can’t comment on how well it works.