receiving messages without blocking the code

Hello,

I am new to code on python (and on C) and I couldnt figure this out myself:

Is there a way to use the recvfrom() function with less blocking way. I mean, if I write like in the example:

from socket import *
sd = socket(AF_ZIGBEE, SOCK_DGRAM, ZBS_PROT_TRANSPORT)
sd.bind((“”, 0xe8, 0, 0))
payload, src_addr = sd.recvfrom(72)

Then if nothing is received (a.k.a node is not responding at that moment), everything gets totally blocked on line 4. I want to skip the receiving if there comes no response in some certain time limit. So I tried to use the while loop something like

timestart=time.clock()
timelimit=timestart+10

while timenow

Hello!

I think socket has a method to set a timeout, try with:

sd.settimeout(5.0)

Where 5.0 is the maximum time (in seconds) the socket will be waiting for data.

Hope it helps.

Regards.

Two alternatives include using non-blocking sockets (which isn’t recommended in this case, since you actually do intend to wait for at least some period of time), or the “select” module. The “select” module offers the semantics you seek (wait for the socket to become readable until a timeout) with the advantage that it can be used (in more complex environments) to keep track of multiple sockets simultaneously in a single thread.

Hey,

Thank you Diego, that was exactly what I needed!

Is there a list of that kind of options somewhere since digipython programming guide doesn’t mention for example this settimeout()-function?

Best Regards
-Matalalento-

For questions like these, regarding potentially available features in standard Python modules, the Python library documentation is the best place to turn. For instance, the documentation for the “socket” object in the socket module for Python 2.4.3 is found here:

http://www.python.org/doc/2.4.3/lib/socket-objects.html