Trouble interfacing XBee Pro S3B without X-CTU on an Arduino board

Hey everyone, I am new to XBees and interfacing them with microcontrollers, so bear with me. Right now I am trying to establish a simple serial connection between two Arduino-based boards (the Mayfly by Stroud Research Center) using XBee Pro S3B modules. My current set up includes one Mayfly logging air temperature and sending it to an XBee Pro S3B via the board’s Tx serial communication and an XBee’s DIN pin, then that data is sent over radio to another XBee Pro S3B in transparent mode, out the DOUT pin, and to the other board’s Rx port. I have the sender datalogger constantly powered, and I have no problems printing data to the sending XBee and sending the information out over radio.

The problem I’m running into is the XBee receiving data will not automatically kick it out the DOUT pin unless I add the device in X-CTU. I know the XBees work together because when I plug the receiving XBee into the X-CTU program, I can read the data in the console as it comes in. I have an XBee Serial Explorer breakout board from Sparkfun that lights up an LED when data is sent over the DOUT or DIN pins. I’ve noticed that even when I power up XBee module using this breakout board, the DOUT pin will not light up until I add the device on X-CTU. Once it is added, the DOUT pin begins to light up from the incoming data from the datalogger sending air temperature. I can connect the DOUT pin on the receiving XBee to a Mayfly, keeping the power to the breakout board on, and the Mayfly will read the serial data just fine. However, as soon as I cut power and turn it back on, the data no longer transfers through the DOUT pin to the datalogger on the receiver end. I have to go back into X-CTU, add the device, and keep the power supplied on the breakout board as I add some jumper pins to connect the DOUT pin to the Rx pin on the Mayfly.