Any Python API to send frames to digimesh network?

Hi there,

Sorry if answers can be obvious, I’m just a complete newbie :slight_smile:

I’ve got a digimesh network with several 865/868LP modules all configured in routers.
As I need to address specific modules in the network, I understand I have to configure all modules in API mode …
What I want to do is have a base station with one module in it communicating with the network.

It seems I will have to build API frames to embed data to be sent.
Is there any python API that already exists to build digimesh frames?

Thanks!!

Yes there is but it is designed to work on the Digi Gateway products. You can find it in the ESP for Python on Digi’s web site.

As for all nodes being in API mode. No, not all nodes need to be in API mode. The reality is, is that the only node that should be in API mode is the master or central collector. Even then, it does not have to be in API mode. API mode only makes it so that you do not need to enter command mode to send data to different nodes. It also allows you to see the 64 bit address of the node that you receive the data from. Both of which are only helpful if you are not using an addressing protocol already.

Thanks mvut for your answer.
I found something from github for the python digimesh API, I’ll check how it works.
https://github.com/thom-nic/python-xbee/blob/master/xbee/digimesh.py

However there’s still something I don’t understand in the mesh network configuration with my 865/868 LPs …
If I want to be in digimesh config, do I have to have at least one module in API mode?
I think I’m a bit confused with Digimesh and API :slight_smile: