beginner needs help with digital outputs

Hi all,

At work I recently was tasked with learning how to program the Rabbit 2500 and 2600. I’m an Electrical Engineering undergrad and have taken a semester of C++ so I’m familiar with the language, but don’t have any experience with microcontrollers.

I’ve been reading the Dynamic C User Manual and the Rabbit 2500 User Manual to learn about the specific function calls, and I’ve been looking at example source code as provided by the Dynamic C IDE installation.

At this point I am a bit familiar with the language but am having a hard time understanding how exactly to properly write code that will change the states of the digital outputs. What I’d like to do, just as a learning exercise, would be to write code that would turn on a single Dig Out channel for a specified amount of time, then turn it off for a specified amount of time. After I do this, I’d like to change the entire bank, and then channels individually.

Where I’m running into problems is the actual code itself; the examples go from very basic stuff using the STDIO window that I totally understand to way complex code that I can’t even begin to comprehend…DIGIN and DIGOUT are way over my head because there doesn’t seem to be any stepping stone to get there. In theory I know what to do…I will use digout() and digbankout() and specify values. How to actually use these functions in real code is what I’m confused about. Do I call these functions in main() whenever I need? Do I have to define what they do outside of main() and then call them? I’m looking through examples but am having a hard time wrapping my head about how to actually write code from scratch.

If anyone could help me out I’d appreciate it. If I could see code that would just put a simple square wave on an output channel I think I could go from there and extrapolate what I wanted to do. I’m just confused on how to call functions properly in main() and what I need to define above main().