Can an end device wake up and send data without polling?

If I have a number of battery powered cyclic-sleep series 2 end devices, is it possible to get them to asynchronously just send their input states to a router or controller each time they wake up?

If each device wakes up say every 15 seconds, it seems crazy to have to pre-send a fetch message to each device every 15 seconds before they wake up.
I don’t see any serial activity from the controller when an end device wakes up, so the attached PC program doesn’t know a device is awake to be queried once it has woken up.

Is the only mode of operation available to me, to send a message to each end device after each receive of data, so it gets a message next time it wakes up? That seems like more overhead than is necessary.

I’m a newbie at this, so maybe it is a dumb question, but I’ve found the protocol more complex than I expected, and the official documentation is pretty sparse.

Hi,

I’m not sure whether Periodic sampling is the option for this.
To enable periodic sampling set IR to non-zero value. Refer the ZigBee product manual for more details at the below link, http://ftp1.digi.com/support/documentation/90000976_L.pdf
(page number 96)

Kavya is correct.

Of course the ideal solution is that you eliminate the polls altogether and allow your device to send a ‘response’ which was never polled for. If your central XBee (on the PC) is in API mode, then your PC application merely gathers all the incoming data, using the Xbee addressing to know which sensor sent the data. Your PC would also maintain a timer (some sense of time) to detect when sensors have NOT reported in as required. For example, I have tank level sensors which report in only once per hour (or day). It would be impossible to do what you do - attempt to ‘pre-poll’ for 24 hours expecting 99.99% poll failure.