Modify Telnet Server API Sample

Hi,

I’m relatively new to NET+OS and am trying to modify the Telnet Server API Sample that came with the software.

The general structure of the sample is correct for my purposes except I need to remove the Welcome message and the login features to make it transfer data from telnet to serial without the need for any authentication.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to do this?

Thanks

I do not believe you can completely remove the authentication. The closest you can get is a username with no password. In root.c there are calls to NAsetSysAccess(). Add one whose second parameter is the name you want and set the third parameter to “”.

As far as the welcome messages are concerned, there are calls to TSSendString() in telnet.c. Find the ones you do not like and comment them out.

One thing to be careful of. There are (theoretically) two telnets. One is the sample project. The other is built into the BSP. Ensure the one in the BSP is disabled. Otherwise the two will conflict.

I have had done some digging and found some example code from maxstream that uses the select command in conjunction with serial ports. I have included a few excerpts from a file named ms_serial.c. I hope this code example helps.

Ok, so lets say I don’t base my project on the sample project given. How would I go about creating a program that would accept TCP input and output to the serial port? Something that boots up and starts working and doesnt need a login.

Thanks

Ok, now I am not sure what you are looking for exactly. I’ll make some assumptions and answer based on my assumptions.

I’ll assume you are developing using the ESP IDE.
There is a sample project entitled basic sample. That gives you something akin to a hello world project.