Newbie Question regarding XBee Pro Version 1 Modules

Hello everybody, I have to build an application which uses the XBee Pro Version 1 modules but I am quite new to wireless networks and to the XBee chip mentioned. I am trying to decipher the manual but it is a little “rough” at times. So I would like to ask a few questions.

First some words about the application and the network topology.

1. I need to form a chain in which an Xbee module talks only to its
    predecessor and it successor in the chain. There can be one network coordinator if necessary. The information each node has to exchange with its neighbours can be contained in 2 bytes.

Question : Do I need a network coordinator in this scenario ( is it mandatory ) ?

1. Most importantly there might be more than a single network in the same space so I need a mechanism to force certain nodes to belong to a predetermined chain ( network ).

Question : Is this possible with the XBee module ? Can I for example fix the rf channel on which the modules communicate and thus use the 12 different channels for 12 different pans/networks in the same environment ?

If the answer to my last question is no, how can i force a node to communicate with only two particular neighbours and not interfere with all other nodes in nearby pans ?

I am very grateful to anyone that can shed some light on my doubts!

I’m not sure if 802.15.4 would be the best fit here. It sounds like you want to unicast basically in two directions, to the predecessor and successor, and that’s it.

That sounds like a linear wireless topology, and one which might work better with DigiMesh (since you’re talking about a chain of these, not just three modules, and 802.15.4 is point to multipoint only). Hopefully one of my collegues can add some additional input.