Onewire interface

Hello again!

I am planning to do a onewire interface for this connectme. I plan using uart (and DS2480B chip) because programming a reliable software communications (using GPIO) even at speeds of 9600bps seems to be very hard.

Has anyone done something similar? Any recommendations how to use the uart? Just using ansi c functions to read / write from serial port (very slow?) or use directly the Serial API.

Secondly, because I’m not very experienced programmer, is there some clean or “right” way to do interprocess communication in C? What I thought it would be best that the 1-wire application would be running as it’s own thread and other applications could call it somehow. Through sockets perhaps? Any suggestions or pointers are welcome :slight_smile:

Ok. I was going for termios, but…

I have generated a simple web page, so i could use it to output some data.

I’ve started to generate my own functions under index_v.c, and ran into strange problems.

First, i cannot open a com port straight at index_v.c. If i do a following piece of code:

int fd;
fd = open(“/com/0”, O_RDWR);

The compiler cries about:
/pbuilder/html/index_v.c -o objs/index_v.o
…/pbuilder/html/index_v.c:21: warning: type defaults to int' in declaration of fd’
…/pbuilder/html/index_v.c:21: warning: implicit declaration of function `open’
…/pbuilder/html/index_v.c:21: initializer element is not constant
…/pbuilder/html/index_v.c:21: warning: data definition has no type or storage c
lass

So is this just a totally wrong place to do this?

Second, i was going to use pointers, because if i declare my own funtion and call it, i can use the above code in the function… But.

As from my early lessons in c, i defined
int initializeserial(int *ptr1);

and the code:

int filepointer;
filepointer=(int
)calloc(1,sizeof(int));

int alusta = initializeserial(int *filepointer);

This isn’t good either, i get: