Python for Begginers - Zigbee sockets examples

Hi
Im reading the Zigbee Socket example in the Digi Python Programming Guide (pg. 37) and cant seem to figure out where to get the endpoint, profile id, and cluster id from. Sorry for the basic question, i’m new to this. Can somebody lend a hand please?

It is a little complex due to the new terminology but once you get oriented everything is alright.

If you are using bind() you bind to a thing called an endpoint. An endpoint is specified by a number between 0 and 240 (in decimal). Endpoints allow a radio to send and receive messages to and from multiple local applications. An analog for this in the Internet world is the concept of a TCP/IP port number.

With XBee radios there are two special endpoints: 0x0 and 0xe8. 0x0 is the “ZCL” endpoint and contains several “clusters” for gathering statistics and configuraton information as defined in the ZigBee Device Profile of the ZigBee specification. 0xe8 (decimal 232) is the “data endpoint” of the XBee Application. For example, clusters on this endpoint allow you to send a message to a remote node so that it may be emitted from the remote node’s serial port. Another example of a packet you may receive on endpoint 0xe8 is an automated remote sensor reading.

All endpoints have a “profile identifier” that informs an application how to format and interpret data. If you speak to endpoint 0xe8 of an XBee node you will always use profile id 0xc105–the XBee profile.

Clusters are little numeric identifiers that specify how the remote node should interpret the data packet. In the former example, sending a packet to an XBee with a profile ox 0xc105 and cluster 0x11 tells the remote XBee to transmit the packet out its serial port. If you send a packet to endpoint 0xe8, profile 0xc105, and cluster 0x12 the packet will loopback to the sender. This is often used for testing link connectivity.