What's the purpose of the usb-interface board as opposed to rs232 board?

hey i’m very new to this zigbee stuff and am doing a project on gas sensors but interfacing them with zigbee technology to transmit data … i have the drop in networking kit and have gone thru the book and followed instructions etc. and basically everything works as prescribed … what’s the purpose of the usb-interface board as opposed to the rs232 boards? i’m thinking my next step is trying to interface my gas sensor boards with one of the xbee modules (rs232 interface boards) but i’m not too sure where to start. input/output on gas sensor boards is via rs232 as well. any help please?

Message was edited by: admin - branched to seperate topic in more appropriate category, topic changed to reflect content of post.

The main difference between the USB and RS232 development boards is that this allows you an interface option, particulary in a world where more and more laptops, etc. are coming out which no longer have a DB9/com1. Having a USB serial interface gives at least one level of interface diversity in other words.

As for “the next step”, it sounds like your RS232 gas sensors would be a good fit for an RS232 XBee adapter.

Assuming you have the RS232 development board, you could “proof of concept” this using the dev board and an XBee module loaded with Router/End Device AT firmware (talking ZNet 2.5 here, since protocol wasn’t specified), and if everything works, use your gas sensor with an RS232 adapter going forward.

thanks for that!!

The main aim of my project is to create a mesh network (starting with about 3 or 4 nodes) of gas sensors that would be able to send/receive gas measurements between each other using Zigbee. So what you’re saying is to use the RS232 Xbee adaptor with each gas sensor instead? What would i use the RS232 interface boards for then?