Digi IAP communicating to Contrologix via Modbus TCP

Hi, to all.
I have a yokogawa controller YS-1700 which can communicate via Modbus/TCP. and I will be talking to a Contrologix PLC using a Digi IAP through the plant network. This is my first time using a digi and just don’t know how to start. I already have all the IP adresses to the Digi, Yokogawa controller and PLC, and I am able to ping them from my PC, but I need help to continue.

Chava-

This document should help you get things set up: http://ftp1.digi.com/support/documentation/90000647_B.pdf

Jen

This document explains how the DCS acting as a Modbus/TCP master can poll a ControlLogix indirectly as-if it were a Modbus slave.

You’ll need to make slight modification to the ControlLogix program to enable “SLC5/PLC5/PCCC mapping”, which means link the old PLC idea of a file or table number (like B3 or N7) to the tagged (named) variables which exist within the ControlLogix. this is required to even enable a SLC5/05 or PLC5E to query the ControlLogix, so is not something just required for the Digi One IAP.

Thank you both for your info, I follow both of your advices, and now I am able to communicate with the controller, as far as reading the data, but I can not write to it, my message instruction errors every time, with an error that says “Illegal command from local processor”. I apperciate any help. Thanks again, Chava

Take a look at my web page here and obtain a “trace” of the IAP’s messages during both a read and a write:
http://digitips.wikispaces.com/Digi_IA_Event_Trace

Be aware that not all Modbus requests can be mapped to AB - for example Modbus allows me to write 3 bits starting with the 4th bit, whereas AB only allows writing full 16-bit words. There is no safe way to map these 2 without considerable effort or risk. Same is true of reads, but the DOIAP cheats a bit and just masks/shifts off the 13 extra bits returned by AB.