How can I identify which Radios I have?

Hi there, well first of all its kind of clear that I’m a total newbie in the use of these radios. I’m currently writing configuration guides for the XBee radios for a project at school but I’m not sure about a lot of things involving these radios.

I have checked in the forums before but I didn’t find anything related to my question

I currently have 4 XBee radios, and I’m trying to find their capabilities, I have learned through the forums (mainly) that the Series 1 of the XBee radios are only capable of working in 802.15.4 mode OR DigiMesh and that the Series 2 are able to fully operate with Zigbee.

So… How can I find which type of Modules I have?

In X-CTU, when I click the Read button they show up as XB24, and in Function set I see 802.15.4, I already updated the firmware version to 10CD.

The modules have the following strings printed on them:

FCC ID: OUR-XBEE
IC ID: 4214A-XBEE

The board where they are mounted:

XBIB-R-DEV Rev3
WOLF

Im 90% sure that they are Series 1, but I just want to be sure.

Cheers and thank you all

Hello Licho,

The function set 802.15.4 and version 10CD indicate you have series 1. If it were a series 2 you would see “Zigbee” mentioned in the function set when you read the module.

HOLY COW that was fast :open_mouth:

Thank you :slight_smile: I was suspecting that too :stuck_out_tongue:

So just to make sure, I can only work with 802.15.4 AND Digimesh, right?

Cheers m8 and thank you for the fast reply :open_mouth:

This is correct, an rf module with part number starting in XB24-A (or XBP24-A) can use 802.15.4 or DigiMesh 2.4 firmware.

An rf module with part number starting in XB24-B (or XBP24-B) can use ZNet 2.5 or ZB (Zigbee) firmware

Good day, admin & others.

Specific to the firmware subject-matter, I am curious if you’d be willing to expand the dialog a bit:

As with the original poster in this thread, I too have a couple of Series 1 802.15.4 radios (XBP24-AWI-001).