LxNETES and the open community

Hi all!

I want to explain some reflexions about the uClinux version for Digi modules and processors (LxNETES). I’m writing this post with the only intention of showing my point of view about LxNETES and the strategics followed by DIGI on this subject. Please, don’t take this post as a critic against Digi. I’m just explaining my modest opinion as a simple user.

I’ve been using LxNETES for the last ten months. First, on the UNC20, more recently, on the Connect-ME. I must say that LxNETES (uClinux) is a wonderful OS with lots of capabilities and, although I don’t know Net-OS, I would choose LxNETES again if were to start again with the Digi modules. uClinux let integrate almost any Linux application in your solution. The Boa web server is compact, fast and flexible. The TCP/IP stack seems to be rock-solid. Busybox, etc.

FsForth, the creator of the LxNETES port of uClinux has really done a good job, mainly for the UNC20 (now ConnectCore 7U), a module that was initially developed to use this OS. I’ve been getting a fabulous support from FsForth Spain and Germany for the last months. Always ready to help and improve their OS. This is a great thing.