RCM4010: Getting started

Hi,

I’m using an RCM4010 module mounted on the prototyping board which was included with the RCM4000 development kit; I am comfortable with using dynamic C as I am an experienced programmer, but I am somewhat less experienced with the electronics / hardware side of things, so I am stuck as to what the prototyping board’s many terminals are for, and how to properly connect devices to the parallel ports, etc. to be interfaced with the processor.

I have run a few simple test programs using the module and prototyping board’s LEDs via internal parallel ports, such as making the LEDs produce morse code messages, etc., but I am unsure about how to connect external devices to these ports, and don’t feel comfortable messing with the board without an expert opinion :o

Anyway, long story short I’d like to connect a couple of LEDs to the prototyping board and control them via a program, and once I know how to do that correctly I shouldn’t have any problem progressing to more complicated devices.

Thanks in advance for any help :smiley:

It’s easy, but on the other hand, it’s not…

The main thing you need to be concerned with is that the voltage and current levels are compatible. For instance, you may want to run the LED at 10ma (and LEDs are really current devices, so what you learn interfacing an LED to the processor may not apply all that well when you then go and try to interface something like a DAC), but the device you’re driving it from might only be able to supply 8ma (and watch out, because there are devices that can sink and source different amounts of current). So that’s not going to work (for very long at least). So in this case you need a buffer. There are chips you can use for that, or you could use a transistor. Or you could find an LED that would be happy running on 5ma…