Using Python to configure XBeePro and connected equipment

Hi,
I am an hardware engineer and have never worked with Python before.

Glancing through Python Manuals I did not seem to find any method to modify my PCs COM port settings or send command to connected XBee modules or equipment connected to remote XBee modules.

Where can I find example code that shows how to use Python to modify XBee settings and/or address remote equipment connected to remote XBee units.

Were you able to find information on Python and Digi products programing?
I need to do some IO programing but information is scarce?
Thanks.

yantrik,

Are you trying to use Python on your PC or Python on a Digi ConnectPort X gateway?

If you are trying to use Python together with Zigbee on your PC there are no Zigbee software extensions available. The Zigbee functions mentioned in the Digi Python Programmers guide are only applicable to Zigbee running on a Digi ConnectPort product.

I thought I would make mention of this to save you some hassle if you were trying to get the XBee’s to work using Python on your PC.

Information is currently scarce. However, one place where there is some useful documentation is in the Digi Python Programming Guide.

Here’s a link: http://ftp1.digi.com/support/documentation/90000833_b.pdf

This is available along with the sample code that it references on the CD that is distributed with the Digi ConnectPort X products.

If there are any specific areas or questions about usage that you have, feel free to ask them on this forum.

Thank you for the quick reply.
I did read the Digi Python Programming Guide and it was indeed helpful. However when I started looking into the sample code “Use DDO to Read Temp…” I could not find the _zigbee module. I also tried to find what parameters to use with ddo_set_param etc. in document 90000866_B but had no luck.
I’m just trying to write python code to manipulate XBee S2 module IOs and am wondering if I’m on the right track.
Regards,
J.