i/o on a series one xbee

Forgive me if I am asking a stupid question, but this is going to be my first venture into this type of project.

I am looking to retrofit my wired tig welding pedal to be wireless. This is a very simple device. There is a momentary switch that closes when you begin to rock the pedal. This tells the power supply to turn on welding current. Along with that is a potentiometer that is used as a voltage divider that changes as you rock the pedal.

If I am correct, all I would need is the switched and analog inputs on the transmitter (pedal), and a relay and digital pot on the receiver (welder) side.

My question is, I have come across some resources that say you can do basic i/o functions with a standard xbee 1. Others say that I would need to go to a programmable xbee. Since this is my first project, and by many accounts a series one is easier to setup, I would like to stick with a standard series one if possible.

With the simple nature of the project I would think that I could get away with just a series one, but would like some input from more knowledgeable people before I jump the gun.

I am trying to keep this as small as possible, so I would rather not add a teensy or equivalent if I can get away with one piece of hardware.

Thank you for any help

Bgood,

Yes, the XBee 802.15.4 modules can perform a basic DIO line pass function. You can also do a ADC conversion with them. To do a ADC to DAC you do need to add some additional components as described at https://www.digi.com/support/knowledge-base/converting-the-xbee-pwm-to-an-analog-voltage-for-d

Digi Support

Thank you for your response. Forgive my ignorance, as this is my first venture into any ic projects. I am trying to figure it out as I go.

I am not entirely sure what you are suggesting with your response.