Range problem with Xbee Digi-mesh 2.4

Hi Everyone.

We have just purchased a half dozen x-bees (pros with RPSMA adapter) and are creating a digimesh network. I am totally new to this and am finding it quite difficult to set the whole system up.

At any rate, one of our x-bees seems not to be working - it only has a range of about 15 feet, indoors. (!) I may have ran 5 volts through the x-bee by mistake, is that enough to damage the unit such that it still functions but in this diminished way? I have checked (and double checked) all the connections and they seem to be fine. Is there some setting I am overlooking?

I am very impressed with the support available on this forum. I have worked very hard at figuring out the x-bee system, but unfortunately have several more questions to ask.

This one will do for now. Thanks in advance for your help!

RPSMA refers to a separate plug-in antenna, I think (please correct me if I’m wrong). Maybe the antenna is making bad contact - have you tried swapping antennas around to see whether the problem moves with the antenna?

I don’t know whether 5V would damage the chip, though I’d be surprised if the result of damage was just to reduce the power. You could try asking the kind folks at Digi support - they must have encountered that situation!

The only setting that should be relevant to range is the PL (Power Level) setting. I imagine you’ve checked that. Oops - see next paragraph.

Hmm. That’s interesting. I just looked at the DigiMesh product manual, and the PL command isn’t documented as far as I can see. Yet on page 5 of the manual it does refer to the PL command. Is it just me, or has that explanation been left out?

Otherwise, a bit more information would help. If it might be a settings problem, then posting the settings on the “bad” chip and a “good” one would make things clearer. Best way (for me at least) is to use X-CTU to save the settings as .pro files, and attach or paste them to the posting.