Remotely connecting to the USBanywhere

Hi All

I am new to the field of networking and data logging so I apologise in advance for any ignorant questions!

I have recently purchased a USB anywhere/2 to enable me to connect remotely to USB data loggers I have on site. I have tested the USBanywhere at home and it works fine on my local subnet.

However, when I try to connect from a remote PC I cannot access or discover it. I am sure that it is because I am missing some basic know-how, but I have tried to follow the manual and still no joy.

Under the ‘discovery list’ of the remote PC I have put the IP address of my network, which is in the form 86.28.x.x is that the correct thing to do?

Where the USBanywhere is located it is connected to a router, I have read that this must be configured to forward subnet broadcasts. What exactly does this mean?

Do I have to adjust settings on the router to allow a remote PC to be able to connect?

Hello,

If the AnywhereUSB is behind a router, and the host PC is elsewhere (not behind that same router) then you’ll need to setup a couple of “port forwards” on the router, to forward inbound traffic on ports 3422 UDP and 3422 TCP to the AnywhereUSB’s IP address. The AnywhereUSB should be configured with a static IP address in this scenario.

You would then input the router’s public / WAN IP address in the Discovery List, on the remote PC.

Does this help?

Hello,

Thanks a lot for the reply. I have gone onto my host router’s settings and added two “port forwards”, both set at port 3422 for UDP and TCP, under the private port box I also left it at 3422 and for the destination IP I put 192.168.0.113, which is the static IP of the USBanywhere.