XCTU displays the following error: Unable to communicate with modem

Hi there im new to this xbee stuff i just got 2 of the XBee 1mW Wire Antenna XBee modules and shields for my Arduino Duemilanove and arduino mega and runing the X-CTU program.
ok so what happends is i pulg one module in to the arduino and run up the X-CTU hit the Test / Query and i get this message

Communication with modem OK
modem type =XB24
modem firmware version =10EC
and
Serial number

So that one must be working ok then i put the other xbee in this and hit Test / Query i get this

Unable to communicate with modem
and tells me to do a reset i did that and nothing?

I tryed doing a write and that worked one time but cant do it again and still the message comes up

These are new xbee modules i shouldnt have faults?

This is what i have done…
XBee module pluged into the libelinm shield and Arduino Duemilanove
pluged in usb and the tx rx leds flash on the arduino and the ASSOCIATE led on the shield flash about 20times then stops it dose the same on the X-CTU programe when i do the rest when that unable to communicate message comes up its like it just dies?

XCTU only tries for so long before giving up, so that message just means “The Xbee didn’t respond in the limited time XCTU tried to reach it”.

That message often means you have an unexpected baud rate, or if API mode is enabled, selecting that will help.

Personally, I would try to reflash that problem XBee via the bootloader, which will restore a known serial settings of 9600 baud: http://www.digi.com/wiki/developer/index.php/Bootloader_to_force_XBee_reflash

I have tryed that so many times and it dosnt work. So the module must be stuffed so much for new modules
what can i do with it now trash it.
Or can i send it back to Digi for repair? is it worth the hassle
in the mean time i orderd another module so i can get the xbee link running