C or Java programming

Hi,

I’m new to the Digi Connect modules and I was wondering if there was any project examples written in C or Java (application not applet). In my opinion C++ is a messy language, and I’m trying to avoid it at all costs.

Thomas

You do not mention whether you are using the linux or the NET+OS kits. If you are using the NET+OS kits (Green Hills or gnu) look in the src\examples directory. There is a large number of example applications, ready to run , that demonstrate different capabilities of the system. Each has a readme file that discusses the specific aspect of the system being tested. It also mentions any restrictions (for example you can’t test a wireless capability on a device that does not support wireless).

I am planning on using the ME 9210 but have not yet decided on whether I need to use the plug and play or the NET+OS version. Is there any Hello World examples written in C or Java?

Thomas

Where would I find these examples at? I looked under Home > Support > Digi Connect ME 9210 > Sample Applications and it says “General Sample Applications are not applicable to this product”

Thomas

I do have the Digi Connect CD and all the examples have a .cpp as their extension. But when I look at the code it actually looks mostly like C. Wonder why they would save C as C++?

I’m now wondering if I have the right CD. It was said that there was a large number of samples but all I see is eight.
Applet
CfgWiz
Discovery
RCI Over Serial
SSL Client
TCP Client
TCP Server
UDP
Is this correct? We did only get the plug and play development kit but the CD implies it is for the whole ME Connect family.

Thomas

Is there anyway to get my hands on the examples from the 9210 NET+OS dev CD without buying another dev kit? I can just buy a module and breadboard it myself.

Thomas

I am referring to the NET+OS version, not the plug and play version. I believe this is the -C version (customizable).