Where to start?

I am a Network Engineer and as of late, a very green web application developer. I work for a small company that has recently taken interest in connecting their proprietary microprocessor controllers to the internet. I am working with an engineer on this project that knows his hardware but hasn’t a clue about the software aspect of things.

What we have so far is this…Our Microprocessor board connected by the proprietary link to a board that the Engineer created that changes the signal and connector to RS-232 serial. That board is to plug into a Digi Connect ME board with the ethernet connector. We want to develop a web interface to read and change settings on our Microprocessor.

I’m clueless. I’ve never worked with embedded systems before. Am I in way over my head or is this something that a dedicated person can sit down and hammer out? Is there a resource in particular that would guide me in the right direction? Any advice would be helpful.

There are two basic types of Digi Connect ME modules available. One is the “S” or standard NDS (Plug-n-Play) module and the other is an “C” or custom module that runs on NET+OS, (Digi’s Embedded OS). You never mentioned which module you are using, so I listed a few options for both types. In order to help any further, I would need to know what type of module you are using and what version of NDS or NET+OS you have.

Actually having your own web page can be accomplished in one of two ways.

Using a standard (“Plug-n-Play”, NDS, Integration Kit) module is it possible to create a pseudo web page. Using “RCI over serial”, your application (typically a Java script running on the host PC) will issue RCI commands to the ME. Upon receiving the request data from the ME, your application will then construct and display a web page on the host PC.