Digi Device Discovery Tool can't found my Connect ME

Hello friends,

I’m a student and my school received 6 Connect-ME devices of a donation. We only received the modules, without the development board.

So, we tried to reproduce the development board of the kit and we did these connections:

Pins 7 and 8 (TX and RX) : We connected them to a circuit with a MAX3232, in the respectives TX and RX;

Pins 13 and 14 (VCC and GND): We powered them with a PC source supply;

Pin 12 (RESET): We used a switch with a resistor. The reset is working well.

We just did these connections. Is there others that need to be done? To acess a COM port we used a USB/serial cable. Is there a requirement to the number of the COM port? We’re using the COM12.

We discovered the IP number that is: 169.254.171.11. When I open the Digi Device Discovery Tool my Connect ME isn’t found. What could be the problem? Please I need your help urgently!!!

Best regards,
Thanks.

Marcos Bontempo.

Probably the Digi is configured for DHCP, so if you’ve not got a DHCP server on the network it won’t get a usable address.

I have found that the Digi discovery program doesn’t work in all circumstances; from memory I think the Digi itself has to either have a DHCP-assigned address, or be on the same subnet as the PC running the discovery program, or have one of the ‘unnetworkable’ addresses, such as 169.254.171.11.

You may also need to open some ports on the firewall on your PC (search Digi help for the actual port numbers) - sounds as if this should be your first step.

Do you have the part number? One kind is a connectme-C and one kind is a connectme-S. They use different discovery tools based on a “cookie” that is looked for in the discovery tool. The -C is associated with the NET+OS development environment and the -S is the “plug-and-play” type.

Hello, thanks for replying. The part number is:
PN:(1P) 50000878-01 W
Below of the part number there is other number: 95011130B
And also the code -S.