Problems getting started with StarterKit (XBee PRO S2B)

Hello,

I’m completely new to XBee. I got the Starter Kit including two Boards and two XBee Pro S2B - Modules.

I installed X-CTU and the Drivers as mentioned in the manual. Unfortunately whether the “PC Settings -> Test / Query” works, nor does “Modem Configuration -> read”.

“Test / Query” throws the Dialog in the attached Image.
(Modem type = Name unknown (SERIAL), Firmare = @||$y…)

“Modem Settings -> read” returns “The Modem configuration file was not found. Would you like…” If I hit “Yes” some files are downloaded, but afterwards a dialog appears, telling me “Modem configuration file not found after update”.

I tested both boards and both XBees, but the results are equal, not matter what I do.

I even tested each single baud - without any success.

Is there anyone who can help me?

Thanks,
c_l

push

Is there really no one that can help me with this problem? :frowning:

My initial “knee Jerk” reaction is that you do not have the Baud rate set properly on your port. Default is 9600 Baud. I would try that baud rate first and then if you still have issues, reflash the radio to the newest Firmware http://www.digi.com/support/kbase/kbaseresultdetl?id=2103 and or http://todigi.blogspot.com/2010/05/xbee-obituaries-xbee-returns-from-grave.html then try again using default baud rates. That should solve the strange characters issue when you do the Test Query. Note that if you get strange characters when doing a Test Query doing a read will not help at all. If it gets garbage it simply dumps the data and does nothing, I.E. you get a blank screen.

Thanks for your reply!
First of all I used the correct baud rates (I even tried each single one…) and none is working.

I did not try your second solution yet, because of being a little scary about pluggin a module into a powered board…